Universidade Federal do Rio Grande do Norte

The Federal University of Rio Grande do Norte (UFRN - Universidade Federal do Rio Grande do  Norte) is a public institution of higher education and one of the 10 largest universities in Brazil. It is  located in the famous seaside city of Natal, the capital of Rio Grande do Norte, in the northeast of  Brazil, and was created by state law on June 25, 1958, and became a federal university on December  18, 1960, consisting of the existing faculties and schools of higher education in Natal, such as the  Faculty of Pharmacy and Dentistry, the Faculty of Law, the Faculty of Medicine, the Faculty of  Engineering, etc. UFRN has 2 campi in the city of Natal - the central campus and the medical school campus - and 5 campuses in the countryside, community service activities in 62 municipalities and  distance learning support at 20 ground sites. In total, the University has 43,682 students for  pre-university, bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees. There are more than 120 areas of  specialization and 2,216 faculty members, including 1,553 with doctoral degrees. Currently, UFRN  offers more than 200 training opportunities in undergraduate and graduate programs. In short, UFRN is  a comprehensive university that focuses on teaching, practice and research. UFRN is one of the top 30  universities in Latin America, according to the 2022 evaluation of Latin American universities by Time  magazine.