Universidad Nacional del Sur, Argentina

The University of Guadalajara is an institution that inherits the educational tradition of more than 200 years. Currently, the University is developed on the basis of a network model consisting of six subject university centres - specialized in subject areas, headquartered in the Metropolitan District of Guadalajara - nine regional university centres - interdisciplinary and established in different regions of the state high school education system - with 165 campuses in Jalisco and a virtual university system providing distance learning.

Our studio trains high levels of human resources in different science disciplines; currently it serves more than 270,000 students –120,000 high school and 150,000 high school students.

The quality of its educational programmes is recognized by national and international institutions. The University has also implemented institutional policies aimed at promoting innovation.

Through its departments, centres and research institutions, the knowledge generated by universities contributes to the economic development and social welfare of the Jalisco region in addition to updating academic content and promoting technology transfer.

In addition, through its artistic and cultural creation, appreciation and dissemination programs, universities actively participate in cultural life and increase artistic wealth in western Mexico.

In terms of internationalization, universities maintain cooperation and contact with higher education institutions on five continents.

Today, the University of Guadalajara is an institution dedicated to academic excellence, social solidarity and human thought to promote sustainable development in Jalisco and Mexico through education, innovation, science and technology.

This website aims to familiarize readers with our alma mater, its history, development plans and future vision, its structure and organizational form, and the main achievements of different university centers and academia.

The University offers many Degrees. 

Several research projects are carried out at the University, some of them in cooperation with other national and international Institutions. Among the programs organized directly by the Universidad Nacional del Sur in order to promote technological and scientific activities, there are the Research Group Projects (PGI).

The UNS promotes the subscription of agreements with organizations, governments and institutions from very diverse countries in the world. In all cases, these are general agreements that set forth reciprocal exchange, cooperation and assistance between the University and other organizations. Within this framework, the UNS Departments subscribe specific agreements.

The Department of Agronomy occupies a building of five floors, classrooms, library, research laboratories and services, greenhouse, and experimental plots, located at the Campus Palihue. It also has three experimental fields totaling 1148 ha, located in the south of the province of Buenos Aires. It comprises three areas: Soils and Waters, Plant Production and Animal Production, where approximately 115 teachers work on teaching and research projects.

In addition to the Agronomy career, leading to the degree of Agricultural Engineer, postgraduate studies leading to the academic degrees of Master in Agricultural Sciences and Doctor of Agronomy were launched in 1976. By agreement with CONICET, the Regional Center for Basic and Applied Research (CRIBABB) was established in Bahía Blanca comprising five research units, one of which is related to the Department of Agronomy: the Center for Renewable Natural Resources of the Semi-Arid Zone (CERZOS) established in 1980.

The Department of Agronomy participate in many different international agreements and programs e.g. MARCA, ARFAGRI, APICARIBE, JIMA, MACA, etc., involving research projects, post-graduate scholarships and exchange programs for students, professors and graduates.